Home Membership Awards Events News Resources Certification Projects Construction Tilt-Up Products Directory Login

Tilt-Up Awards > David L. Kelly Distinguished Engineer Award

The David L. Kelly Distinguished Engineer Award recognizes those individuals or firms whose commitment to engineering excellence has allowed for industry advancement and achievement.

The award honors the career-long commitment of Dave Kelly, former Chief Engineer of Meadow Burke, to the constant evolution of engineering solutions for the tilt-up industry. A past president, board member, ACI 551 committee member and inspirational mind of the tilt-up industry, Kelly solved many of the most intricate designs and construction requirements asked of the tilt-up methods to enable contractors to erect massive panels of both height and weight.

SUBMIT A Nomination

Is there a person or company that you know embodies the spirit of this award? Click on the nomination link below and submit them for consideration. Entries must be received by June 1st.

Submit a nomination


Recipients by Year

Laurence Smith, P.Eng.

Laurence Smith, P.Eng. is a senior structural consultant with Lindsay Construction Limited and is this year’s recipient of the David L. Kelly Distinguished Engineer Award. During his 30+ years with Lindsay, Laurence served as an estimator, construction manager, senior design engineer, vice president, and director/owner. He began working with the firm in 1987 while still studying at the University of New Brunswick. After completing his Bachelor of Science Degree in Engineering he joined them full-time in 1990.

Following 13 years of designing and constructing Pre-Engineered Metal Buildings, Laurence’s focus shifted to the art and formation of tilt-up concrete. Since then, Laurence has become an essential resource for Lindsay offices throughout Atlantic Canada. Laurence has knowledge and proven value for projects in the design stage and building stage of development. He can often be seen using steel, concrete, wood, or combinations thereof to perfect the structure, functionality, and aesthetics of a project.

Since beginning his career, Laurence has completed many new building projects, yielding more than 5,550 panels for the company. Personally, he has erected 5,000 of these and designed 4,150. At the height of his career, he has helped to bring tilt-up concrete to Newfoundland, completing 38 buildings inclusive of 1,010 panels and the province’s very first 3-story panels by Design-Build methodology.

Laurence has been and remains a tremendous ambassador for the tilt-up industry. He has conducted tilt-up seminars in his local market, including Dalhousie University, ACI Atlantic, Nova Scotia Community Colleges, and the TCA/ACI Tilt-Up Technician Course; he was also a presenter of the “Basics of Tilt-Up Engineering” talk at the TCA Tilt-Up Convention and World of Concrete. Laurence was also a leading influence in helping grow Tilt-Up Today from a 4-page newsletter to a top-tier magazine while also improving the transition between TCA presidents, increasing the importance and effectiveness of this one-year term.

Laurence maintains a license to practice engineering in all four Atlantic Provinces and is a past president (2005-06) of the TCA. Amidst all of his accomplishments, Laurence is perhaps happiest on the construction site. Putting on his hardhat, gloves, safety glasses, and boots he can be found setting panels and working alongside Lindsay Tilt-Up crews. In everything that he does, Laurence endeavors to transfer his knowledge to a new generation of design engineers and field staff, and for this he is extremely valued.