Article tools: Share:

TCA Announces Call for Entries for 2013 Alphonse J. Engelman Safety Awards

TCA Safety Awards ApplicationThe Tilt-Up Concrete Association (TCA) – the global authority for the tilt-up industry – has announced the call for entries for the 2013 Alphonse J. Engelman Safety Awards.

The Tilt-Up Concrete Association created the Safety Awards program in order to recognize the contractors in the industry committed to maintaining safe working environments on their job sites. In 2007, this program was renamed “The Alphonse J. Engelman Safety Awards Program” in honor of past TCA president and champion of tilt-up construction safety, Al Engelman. Engelman helped introduce this industry awards program that now bears his name.

Presented annually at the TCA Convention, the Alphonse J. Engelman Safety Awards program was developed to enhance the TCA’s overall mission to improve the industry through recognition and education, providing a new component emphasizing safety.

“The application process is very quick and easy and best of all, it is free for TCA members. We want to make participation as accessible as possible,” said Mitch Bloomquist, Managing Director for the TCA. “This program recognizes achievement in perhaps the most important aspect of construction, safety.”

TCA’s Safety Awards Program recognizes companies based on the following categories:

  • Best Tilt-Up Safety Achievement Award: recognizes the firm with the lowest incident rate in 2012. Multiple companies with a zero Incident rate will result in the award given to the company with the highest number of annual work hours.
  • Most Improved Safety Achievement Award: recognizes the firm with the most improved incident rate in 2012 from the numbers reported in 2011.
  • Zero Lost time Accident Achievement Award: provided to all submitting companies who achieved an incident rate of zero for 2012.
  • Certificate of Recognition: awarded to all companies whose incident rate fell below the national average for structure contractors, a number that was made available by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Submissions must be received by TCA no later than Sept. 11, 2013. The application is available for download at here. Winners will be announced at the Inaugural Tilt-Up Awards Gala during the TCA Annual Convention in Houston, Texas on September 30, 2013. Contractors with a fatality in 2012 are ineligible.

Leave A Comment

Get Connected

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Connect with us on LinkedIn
Subscribe to us on YouTube


About us

TILT-UP TODAY, a publication of the Tilt-Up Concrete Association, is THE source for Tilt-Up industry news, market intelligence, business strategies, technical solutions, product information, and other resources for professionals in the Tilt-Up industry. A subscription to TILT-UP TODAY is included in a TCA membership. Subscriptions for potential TCA members are also available. If you would like to receive a complimentary subscription to the publication, please contact the TCA.