Article tools: Share:

TCA Safety Corner: TCA Announces 2009 Safety Awards

TCA has announced the winners of the industry’s fourth annual safety awards. The Alphonse Engelman Safety Award honors Al Engelman, a TCA past president and board member, as well as a longtime supporter of the Tilt-Up industry. Engelman helped introduce the industry awards program that now bears his name.

Presented at TCA’s Annual Convention on Oct. 2 in Amelia Island, Fla., the Alphonse Engelman Safety Awards program was developed to enhance the TCA’s overall mission to improve the industry through recognition and education, providing a new component emphasizing safety.

“The vision of the TCA Safety Committee is to educate contractors on the safety benefits of Tilt-Up, to recognize companies who put safe work practices in place, and to highlight the results of their efforts,” said Tim Neubauer, chair of the TCA Safety Committee. “As an industry, we are paving the way for other types of construction to follow our example. The TCA has increased attention to and support of the safety process, and we look forward to continued growth of our industry and the focus on safety.”

TCA’s Safety Awards Program recognizes companies based on the following categories:

  • Best Tilt-Up Safety Achievement Award: recognizes the firms with the lowest incident rate in 2008 from each of six categories and less than an index of 1.0 (General Contractor or Tilt-Up Subcontractor; Hours <100K, 100 to 250K and >250K).
  • Zero Lost Time Accident Achievement Award: provided to all submitting companies who achieved an incident rate of zero for 2008.
  • Most Improved Safety Achievement Award: Recognizes the firm in each category with the most improved incident rate in 2009 from the numbers reported in 2008.
  • Certificates of Recognition: Awarded to all companies whose incident rate fell below the national average for structure contractors, a number made available by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The rate given for 2008 was 5.1.
  • Honorable Mention: Extended to a company that is worthy of special recognition for their safety record.

The winners of the 2009 TCA Safety Awards are:

Best Safety Achievement Award:

  • General Contractor (<100K) – Calamar Construction
  • General Contractor (>250K) – S.B. Ballard Construction Company
  • Tilt-Up Contractor (100 to 250K) – Jones Construction
  • Tilt-Up Contractor (>250K) – Citadel Contractors

Zero Lost Time Accident Achievement Award:

  • American Constructors, Inc.
  • Calamar Construction
  • Citadel Contractors
  • Korte Company
  • Panattoni Construction
  • SB Ballard Construction
  • Seretta Construction

Most Improved Safety Achievement Award

  • General Contractor (<100K) – Calamar Construction
  • General Contractor (>250K) – Big D Construction

Certificate of Recognition – Sub National Average:

  • Big D Construction
  • Calamar Construction
  • Citadel Contractors, Inc.
  • Korte Company
  • Mr. Crane
  • Panatoni Construction
  • S.B. Ballard Construction Company

Honorable Mention

  • Mr. Crane
Leave A Comment

Get Connected

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Connect with us on LinkedIn
Subscribe to us on YouTube


About us

TILT-UP TODAY, a publication of the Tilt-Up Concrete Association, is THE source for Tilt-Up industry news, market intelligence, business strategies, technical solutions, product information, and other resources for professionals in the Tilt-Up industry. A subscription to TILT-UP TODAY is included in a TCA membership. Subscriptions for potential TCA members are also available. If you would like to receive a complimentary subscription to the publication, please contact the TCA.