Article tools: Share:

TCA Honors Career of Commitment — Names Engineering Award in Honor of Dave Kelly

TCA has announced the dedication of the prestigious Distinguished Engineer of the Year award. The professional achievement awards, recognizing commitment to the Tilt-Up industry on a range of levels, will be presented at TCA’s annual meeting Thursday, Feb. 5 in conjunction with the World of Concrete. Recipients are selected by the Association’s Board of Directors after nomination by the general membership and recommendation by the TCA’s Awards Committee.

This year, the TCA Distinguished Engineer award has been named the “David L. Kelly Engineer Award” in honor of his 50 years of service to the industry. A long-time TCA board member and industry veteran, Kelly recently retired as Vice President and Chief Engineer from Meadow Burke. In addition to this naming honor, Kelly will serve as the keynote speaker at this year’s TCA annual meeting. His presentation will give insight to the accomplishments and advancement of the Tilt-Up industry during the span of history covered by his active involvement. This naming honor was bestowed during the TCA Annual Convention, held earlier this month in Phoenix, Ariz. during the Keynote and Awards Luncheon.

“The recognition by your peers is certainly one of the highest honors that can be achieved in a career,” states Jim Baty, TCA Technical Director. “During our luncheon in Phoenix, those in attendance, including Dave, were surprised when this dedication was unveiled. It was quite moving to see the entire room stand to an ovation recognizing the tremendous achievements that Dave has made to the industry. We are truly achieving new heights, thanks in no small part to his ingenuity and commitment.”

The David L. Kelly Engineering Award is one of five awards recognizing individual or corporate commitment to Tilt-Up. Others include:

  • Peter Courtois Memorial Award – honoring Peter Courtois, formerly of Dayton Superior Concrete Accessories for his tireless commitment to the Tilt-Up industry. This award is considered a career-long achievement recognition.
  • Robert Aiken Innovation Award – honoring the innovative spirit of Robert Aiken, considered the founding father of Tilt-Up construction.
  • Murray Parker Memorial Award – honoring contractor Murray Parker, formerly of B.D. Stevens, for his development and promotion of Tilt-Up throughout the industry, especially in the Atlantic Provinces region of Canada where many thought it was impossible to use the medium.
  • Irving Gill Distinguished Architect Award – honoring Irving J. Gill – a prominent architect in Southern California — who worked with Aiken and contributed the first architectural inspiration to the use of Tilt-Up construction.

Nominations for these awards can be submitted to Jim Baty at throughout the year
and are generally finalized during November and December for the award announcements during the World of Concrete. Nominations

must include the person/company name as well as the supporting reason(s) for their consideration.

Leave A Comment

Get Connected

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Connect with us on LinkedIn
Subscribe to us on YouTube


About us

TILT-UP TODAY, a publication of the Tilt-Up Concrete Association, is THE source for Tilt-Up industry news, market intelligence, business strategies, technical solutions, product information, and other resources for professionals in the Tilt-Up industry. A subscription to TILT-UP TODAY is included in a TCA membership. Subscriptions for potential TCA members are also available. If you would like to receive a complimentary subscription to the publication, please contact the TCA.